New Hampshire DWI Laws: Sentencing Decision on Under 21 DWI Cases

New Hampshire DUI Laws The New Hampshire Supreme Court issued an important decision on November 2, 2011 in the case of State v. Gardner.  In this appeal of a New Hampshire DWI sentence from the Exeter District Court, the defendant tried to reduce his length of license revocation after his DWI conviction by six months after he enrolled into the relevant DWI Impaired Driver Intervention Program with 45 days pursuant to New Hampshire DWI law RSA 265:A:18 I (a)(4), The Exeter District Court denied the defendant's request, ruling that RSA 265:A:18 III prohibited any sentence reduction below 12 months for a driver convicted of DWI while under the age of 21.  The defendant appealed and the New Hampshire Supreme Court affirmed the Exeter District Court's decision.

This means that the absolute minimum length of license loss for a driver under the age of 21 convicted of DWI in New Hampshire is one year.  When reviewing this law, including the minimum and maximum penalties for a driver under 21 charged with DWI in New Hampshire, most people charged with this offense should consider going to trial on the charge. If your have been charged with DWI or aggravated DWI in New Hampshire feel free to call me today at 1-603-893-0074 for a free consultation. 

Have a safe night,


Call Today! 1-603-893-0074

New Hampshire DWI Attorney Mark Stevens


  1. I would like to thank you for the efforts you have made in writing this DUI post, which will help community learn by their mistakes.

  2. You are welcome thank you for stopping by and commenting. Mark Stevens