Fight Your New Hampshire License Suspension!
Call Attorney Mark Stevens today at 1-603-893-0074 for a free consultation if the state of New Hampshire intends to suspend or revoke your right to drive in New Hampshire.
New Hampshire’s “Administrative License Suspension” Law
RSA 265-A:30 (2012)
I. If any person refuses a test as provided in RSA 265-A:14 or submits to a test described in RSA 265-A:4 which discloses an alcohol concentration of 0.08 or more or, in the case of a person under the age of 21 at the time of the violation, 0.02 or more, the law enforcement officer shall submit a sworn report to the department. In the report the officer shall certify that the test was requested pursuant to RSA 265-A:4 and that the person refused to submit to testing or submitted to a test which disclosed an alcohol concentration of 0.08 or more, or, in the case of a person under the age of 21, 0.02 or more.
II. Upon receipt of the sworn report of a law enforcement officer submitted under paragraph I, the department shall suspend the person's driver's license or privilege to drive as follows:
(a) In the case of a refusal to take a test described in RSA 265-A:4, the suspension shall be for the period specified in RSA 265-A:14.
(b) In the case of a person who submits to a test described in RSA 265-A:4 which discloses an alcohol concentration of 0.08 or more or, in the case of a person under the age of 21 at the time of the violation, 0.02 or more, the suspension shall be for:
(1) Six months if there is no prior refusal under RSA 265-A:14, no prior driving while intoxicated or aggravated driving while intoxicated convictions, and no prior administrative license suspension pursuant to RSA 265-A:30.
(2) Two years if there is a prior refusal under RSA 265-A:14, or a prior driving while intoxicated or aggravated driving while intoxicated conviction, or a prior administrative suspension pursuant to RSA 265-A:30.
III. On behalf of the department, the law enforcement officer submitting the sworn report under paragraph I shall serve immediate notice of suspension on the person, and the suspension shall be effective 30 days after the date of service. If the person has a valid New Hampshire driver's license, an officer shall take the driver's license of the person, and issue a temporary license valid for the notice period. The officer shall send the license to the department along with the sworn report under paragraph I.
IV. If the person submits to a test described in RSA 265-A:4 and the results of the test are not immediately available and therefore no notice has been served by the law enforcement officer, the department shall mail such notice and the suspension shall be effective 30 days after the date of service. If the address shown in the law enforcement officer's report differs from that shown on the department records, the notice shall be mailed to both addresses. The notice shall be presumed to have been served 3 days after mailing. Upon receipt of the notice of suspension and before requesting any review or hearing under RSA 265-A:31, if the person has a New Hampshire driver's license that has not been surrendered, the person shall surrender such person's license at a place designated by the department and shall be issued a temporary driving permit valid for the notice period.
V. In the case of a person who has a driver's license from another jurisdiction, all provisions of this subdivision shall apply except that surrender of the out-of-state driver's license and issuance of a temporary driving permit shall not be required. The department shall transmit a copy of the suspension order to the motor vehicle authorities in the jurisdiction where the person's license was issued, and also in the jurisdiction of the person's residence if different from that where the license was issued.
Call Attorney Mark Stevens if you've been accused or charged with DUI, OUI, Shoplifting, Driving after Suspension, Administrative License Suspensions, Aggravated DWI, or any other criminal charges, 24/7 at 1-603-893-0074. The Law Offices of Mark Stevens represent people accused of DWI and other crimes. Call right now for a free initial consultation and case evaluations at (603)-893-0074 or visit us online at byebyedwi.com for more information!