New Hampshire Laws: "Possession of Drugs" When the Cops Find Them in Your Car

New Hampshire Drug Laws . Most people in New Hampshire know that marijuana is still illegal.  It's crazy but true.  If you're stopped by the police, and you've got a stem or some resin in a pipe in your car, you will likely be arrested and charged with the crime of "Possession of Drugs" under New Hampshire's Motor Vehicle Code RSA 265-A:43.  That law reads like this:

TITLE XXI  Motor Vehicles
CHAPTER 265  Rules of the Road - Serious Traffic Offenses
RSA 265-A:43 Possession of Drugs  (2013)

265-A:43  Possession of Drugs.
Any person who drives on any way a vehicle while knowingly having in his possession or in any part of the vehicle a controlled drug or a controlled drug analog in violation of the provisions of RSA 318-B shall be guilty of a misdemeanor, and his or her license shall be revoked or his or her right to drive denied for a period of 60 days and at the discretion of the court for a period not to exceed 2 years. 

That's a harsh law.  It is also now considered a major motor vehicle offense for the purposes of "habitual offender" certification, which can cause you other licensing problems down the road.


Charged with Possession of Drugs, marijuana or any other controlled drug in New Hampshire?  Call me right now before your Bail Hearing or Arraignment (24/7) @ 1.603.893.0074   Feel free to program my number into your cell phone right now in case you need it later.  If you are unsure how to plead at your arraignment don't plead guilty until you have had a chance to speak with me.  

This is legal advertising.  It does not create an attorney-client relationship.  It is not a guarantee of a particular result in any particular case.

No comments:

Post a Comment